I arrived safely in Kobe on Wednesday afternoon. We were taken to our apartment after signing our contracts at the KEC (forgot what the abbrevs mean, but essentially "headquarters"). My OTE (Official Teacher of English) took me in a taxi to my apartment and helped me get set up. A gas man came and explained a few things and my OTE (name already forgotten) showed me what each switch could do. My predecessor left me a lot of wonderful things in my apartment, including a bed. It had a fitted sheet, but I still needed to get some sheets/towels for before I went to bed. There were some boxes in the closet and a huge soft package in my room, but I didn't have time to check what was inside because I needed to go the grocery while I still had my OTE to help. Also, I had to be back for a new JET dinner, time TBA-they'd stop by and get me. My OTE and I rushed off to the Square and I got a pillow case, GIANT thin towel (serves as a sheet because in Japan they have none), bath mat with a "cute" head attached to look like some sort of animal (I keep tripping over it so it may soon be decapitated) and few other miscellaneous items. Said goodbye to my OTE and ran home to be greeted by a JET who took me to dinner.
In the morning I decided to put things away. I unloaded all my clothes on my bed and started to organize my clothes in my closet. While I was shopping with my OTE and she was explaining how Japanese beds have no sheets, she told me that in winter they put this big futon-like mat/blanket over themselves to stay warm. the giant soft package that was sitting unopened on my floor, I assumed to be the foretold winter blanket. Knowing I wouldn't need any blankets for months, I decided to store it on the top shelf of my closet. Naturally, gravity won the battle and it came toppling down with me easing its fall. Frustrated, I opened up the dumb package to see if it could be separated in some way. There, in the package, lay my futon, pillow case, pillow, two sheets and comforter. WOWOWOWOW!
Burnables, Plastics, Containers, Non-burnables-OH MY!
The Japanese are serious about their garbage! Forgetting the many forms of disposal, I threw all of my trash into the white trash bin (left). It wasn't until later that I received the instructions for the four different ways the Japanese throw away their trash. The majority of my items conveniently went to burnables. The sink is a mess too. Since there aren't garbage disposals in the sink, they put a net down the drain to catch all the debris. It was always my least favorite job to check if a spoon/giant seed had somehow gone down the garbage disposal, now I have to take pull out an entire bag of rotting produce. Compost anyone??